Lees Primary School

Caring, Sharing & Learning Together

Part of Bronte Academy Trust

Welcome from the Governors

The Governors of Lees Primary School welcome you to their part of the school’s website.

We hope to provide you with information that will tell you who we are and, to some extent, what we try to do.

We are all volunteers who give up our time to govern the school to the best of our abilities.

All of us have excellent expertise in many areas, not just within the Educational Field but also in areas such as management, buildings, health and safety, safeguarding, parenting and many, many more.

Governors are actively involved in the life and work of the school and have many statutory duties, these being:


- To help shape the vision and direction of the school.

- To ensure that the school fulfils its statutory duties.

- To have a good understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of the school.

- To ‘constructively’ challenge and support the Leadership Team.


We do this by working in partnership with Ed Whitehead, the Headteacher, and the Senior Leaders within the school, with the unified aim of delivering an outstanding education to all of our pupils.

We are strong supporters of the school and are very keen to hear from parents/carers and others who are interested in us. All Governors can be contacted via the school office, the Chair of Governors can also be contacted via email sarah.cotton@bronteacademytrust.org.uk



The Governing Body



Parent Governors Responsibility
Mrs Lisa Clark Early Years Foundation Stage
 Co-opted Governors  

 Mrs Sarah Cotton 

 Chair of Governors. Pay. Leadership & Management

 Ms Penny Campbell

S.E.N. & Vulnerable Groups

Mr Chris Holdsworth

Behavioural & Pastoral

 Mrs Jenny Mercer

Quality of Education. Pay.

 Mr Peter Rainford

 Vice Chair of Governors. Resources/Premises

Mrs Anna Whitaker

 Safeguarding. Pay.

 Staff Governors  
 Mrs Andrea Sharrock

Assistant Headteacher

Mr Ed Whitehead  Headteacher

 Associate Members


Mrs Gill Holland

Executive Headteacher/CEO

Governors Declaration of Interest 2019